Too much excitement

image

I was reading Jonathan Strange & Mr.Norrell quite late at night and came across this passage right after Mr. Norrell bargains with a magical creature to bring a young women back from the dead.

No young lady ever had such advantages before: for she died upon the Tuesday, was raised to life in the early hours of Wednesday morning, and was married upon the Thursday; which some people thought too much excitement for one week. (Pg. 99)

I cracked up. I don’t know about you but this is humor at its finest. The downplay, the understating tone and the general wit of this passage is reminiscent of something only Jane Austen could think of.
There are 700 pages left in this book but I already know my favorite passage.
So funny. Hilarious to be exact.
Or am I just getting old?

2 thoughts on “Too much excitement

Tell me what you think!

