Forgiveness Beyond Measure: The first 10 days of Ramadan

The first ten days of Ramadan are of forgiveness: days where the mercy and pardon of God rains down in abundance upon His servants. In that spirit here is a story from Gems & Jewels.

http://nikkersstar.files.wordpress.com/2011/06/cponte_brick_well.jpgIt is related that when a man from the Prophet’s Companions fell into a continual state of depression Allah’s Messenger(pbuh) said to him, “What is wrong with you that you are sad?” He said, “O Messenger of Allah during the days of ignorance, I indeed perpetrated a sin so great, I fear that Allah will not forgive me..!” Allah’s Messenger said, “Inform me about your sin.” He said, “O Messenger of Allah, I was from those who killed their daughters.” He continued, “Then a daughter was born to me, and my wife interceded on her behalf, pleading with me that I should leave her alone, and so I left her until she grew and became of age. She became one of the most beautiful of women and many proposed to her. I was overcome by a fit of fanaticism and my heart could bear neither to marry her off nor to leave her in the house without a husband. So I said to my wife, ‘I want to go to such and such relatives, so send her with me.’ She was pleased with that and she adorned her with nice clothing and jewelry. She took many promises from me that I should not be treacherous with her. I took her to a well and she sensed that I wanted to throw her inside, so she hugged me, crying and saying, ‘My father, what do you wish to do to me?’ I had mercy on her then, but when I looked into the well, I was again overcome by a fit of fanaticism. She hugged me and said, ‘My father, do not waste the trust of my mother.’ I began to look once at the well, then once at her, at which time I had mercy on her, but the Satan overcame me in the end and I took her and threw her upside down into the well. She was calling from the well, “O my father you have killed me.” I remained there until her voice broke off, and I then returned.”

Allah’s Messenger (pbuh) as well as his Companions started crying and he said, “Had I been ordered to punish anyone for what they did during the days of ignorance, I would have punished you”

https://i2.wp.com/www.thecoralgablesstory.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/08/seller-regret.jpg

This story is ripe with lessons but I want to point towards one that is perhaps not as obvious. You see, the person narrating the story, the individual who cold-heartedly murdered his daughter, is a companion of the Prophet (pbuh). Allah guided him to the religion of Islam. Black are this man’s deeds and even blacker his heart when he threw his own daughter, flesh and all, into a well to kill her. The daughter was not a baby girl, devoid of understanding or a sense of the world around her. She was a mature young women who trusted her father. And he betrayed her trust. Murder was not the only black deed done on that day. Yet, after all these horrid deeds, Allah still saw this man fit, to guide his heart towards Islam. We know his grievous was forgiven by God upon accepting Islam, but the guilt and the hurt still remains.

We’ve all heard the story of the man who killed 100 men and repented. We’ve also heard of prostitutes attaining Jannah just by feeding a hungry dog. But I think stories like the one above hits home because this is the story of a father murdering his daughter. Yet at the end of the day, Allah chose to forgive him. Nothing is indeed out of His grasp.

Think about THAT during these 10 blessed days.

Asalamualikum

Tell me what you think!

